1. Travel
Send to a Friend via Email
Susan Breslow Sardone

Eurail Pass Soon to Exclude France

By November 29, 2012

Follow me on:

If you're thinking of visiting Europe in 2013 and planning on using a Eurail Select Pass (buy online) -- the pass that allows you to visit up to 5 countries on one ticket -- the time to secure it is now.

Here's why: As of January 1, 2013, France will withdraw as a participating country. That means you can for instance visit Italy, Switzerland, Germany and Spain on the Pass -- but you'll have to buy a different pass if you want to include France on a multi-country itinerary.

BUT if you get a Eurail Select Pass (buy online) any time from now until the end of 2012 and travel within 6 months of the purchase, you can still ride on the trains in France at no extra cost.

Image courtesy of Rail Europe.

No comments yet. Leave a Comment
Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.